CCG Board awards Life Membership

27 July 2017

Long-term volunteer and Director on the Board of Community College Gippsland Julia Ettery has been awarded Life Membership after 12 years’ voluntary service.

She was first appointed to the Board in April 2005 and resigned earlier this year when her term expired at the Annual General Meeting in March.

Board Co-Chairman Des Williams recently presented Julia with her Life Membership at a luncheon with college volunteers, staff, Board and family members held in July.

Life Membership Des Williams Julia Ettery and Sue Geals

Life of service: Newly appointed Life Member to the Community College Gippsland Julia Ettery is congratulated by Board Co-chair Des William and CEO Sue Geals

Mr Williams told the gathering that Julia’s meritorious service over many years had certainly earned her place as CCG’s 11th Life Member since its establishment in 1975.

“Julia had a key role in advocating with the State Government to secure CCG’s Korumburra Road Warragul Campus after Melbourne University withdrew,” he said.

“Working closely with another then Director and Life Member, the late Graham Paynter, she successfully lobbied several state elected officials on CCG’s behalf."

“Julia’s links to government were critical in helping secure control of our Warragul Campus,” Mr Williams said. “In 2005 CCG was granted tenancy of the Warragul campus and received a $1 million grant for repairs and upgrade to the facility.”

“Support Julia helped gain from the State government also assisted CCG in re-sizing its organisation in response to reduced VET funding in recent years,” he said. “This was vital and allowed us to carry out the changes required to ensure our financial sustainability.”

“Through Julia’s extensive community and political networks she has been a strong promoter and advocate of CCG. Over her 12 years as an active Board member, Julia carried out her duties as a Director with commitment and conviction.”

Mrs Ettery’s vacant position on the Board has been filled by newly appointed Director Howard Woodall.

For further information, please phone (03) 5622 6000 or email